Oscar picks

GravityJust for fun, let’s see how I do. I haven’t seen some of the nominated films (Nebraska, Philomena, Hobbit), but I think I have enough for an educated guess. Will post the results tomorrow!

Results: I scored 12/20. Not bad.

Best Picture: Steve McQueen’s 12 Years a Slave – WINNER (see my list of Best and Worst of 2013 by clicking the link)

Best Actor: Matthew McConaughey (Dallas Buyers Club) – WINNER

Best Actress: Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine) – WINNER (see my review of Blue Jasmine by clicking the link)

Supporting Actor: Michael Fassbender (12 Years) WINNER: Jared Leto (Dallas Buyers Club)

Supporting Actress: Jennifer Lawrence (American Hustle) – WINNER: Lupita Nyong’o (12 Years)

Director: McQueen (12 Years) – WINNER: Alfonso Cuaron (Gravity)

Adapted Screenplay: 12 years – WINNER

Original Screenplay: Her – WINNER (see my article by clicking the link)

Production Design: Gravity – WINNER: The Great Gatsby

Cinematography: Gravity – WINNER

Costume:  American Hustle (haven’t seen The Great Gatsby, but I think it’ll win) – WINNER: The Great Gatsby

Documentary: Joshua Oppenheimer’s The Act of Killing – WINNER: 20 Feet from Stardom

Editing: Gravity – WINNER

Foreign: The Hunt (haven’t seen The Great Beauty, will likely get it) – WINNER: The Great Beauty

Makeup: Dallas Buyers Club – WINNER

Score: Her – WINNER: Gravity (I did really like the music in this film – click link)

Song: Her – WINNER: Frozen

Sound Editing: Gravity (I’d rather All is Lost) – WINNER: Gravity

Sound Mixing: Captain Phillips – WINNER: Gravity (should’ve known better)

Visuals: Gravity – WINNER

1 comment

Leave a Reply

